I’m back . . . and one day closer to dead!

Posted: October 23, 2007 in faith, life
Tags: , , , , ,

oldman.jpgWell, it’s been a few days, but I have returned.  Oh no you don’t blogosphere, don’t think you can get rid of me that easily!  I have been on a youth retreat and back again, and have lived to tell about it.  Actually, all in all, it was a really enjoyable and beneficial trip.  The weather generally co-operated, contrary to what the forcasters told us.  We had somewhat cold but generally dry weather so we were able to keep warm enough in the cabins but also have the chance to go out and play some games.  The main focus of the weekend though was our focus on social justice issues.  I am a definite believer that preaching the “good news” gospel of salvation by grace through faith in Christ is important, but as I’ve stated before on other posts, I think modern evangelicals forgot about the whole “take care of the poor, widows, orphans, and aliens” and the “love mercy, seek justice, and walk humbly with your God part”.  I could go on for a while about that, but I’ve done that in previous posts if you really want to read more of my thoughts on that subject.  So the weekend was spent going through a curriculum called The Jusice Mission.

As usually happens when you go to teach a lesson, you usually wind up learning as much or more than those you hope to teach.  It was a great challenging weekend for the kids and myself.  It was apalling to see the injustice going on around the world that we so easily gloss over in North America.  On average, it takes about $500-$1000 to free a person from an oppressive situation (slavery, prostitution, etc.) in an overseas country.  In just a quick survey we had that amount of money invested just in ipods in our youth group of 10 kids.  It kind of gives you a sick feeling inside when you realize that you could have saved the life of a person but instead chose to use it to entertain yourself and thus provide yourself the necessary distractions to keep on going in the lifestyle you’ve always enjoyed.  I realize that there is nothing wrong with enjoying our lives here on earth, but I don’t think I will ever look at money in the same way again after this weekend.

 Getting on to the whole “one day closer to dead” part of my post, I am now 27 years old.  It really quite unbelievable.  It really set in this weekend when “I Want it That Way” by BSB came on the stereo as it was played on my ipod and none of the kids in the youth group had ever heard the song before.  I then realized that that song was a radio single when the oldest of the kids was four years old and the youngest of the group hadn’t even been conceived yet.  Now I realize that it was an oldish song to start with, but I never really realized it was that old.  Anyways, yes it’s true, I am now only three years from thirty.  For some I realize that thirty is a real landmark age, but for me it doesn’t really make a big difference.  I already feel like I’m old beyond my years with all the life experiences I’ve had over the past five years.  It’s like I tell the kids in my youth group, “enjoy your youth now because it’s all downhill after 21.”  Of course I say that somewhat jokingly, I do enjoy my life, but I can already tell that my body is sore, my time is short, and my responsibilities are high.  Life is good, but there are days that I yearn for the carefree dorm living days of 21.  Enough pining for “back in the day” though . . . I’m so old.

Comments
  1. bradmoffatt says:

    Secretly I listen to backstreet boys in my office. Somedays I’ve thought of listening to every album they’ve made in one sitting …. then I take off my dress, put my purse down and wake up into reality!?? You have backstreet boys in your ipod?? O.K. , I can’t relate to the BSB comment b/c I won’t ever admit to having thier songs on my stereo (but I do have Kelly Clarkson on my ipod) but I do know what it feels like to be “old”. I met with some grade 12 students last week and I made a joke straight from “dumb and dumber”. Anyone with a sense of humour the size of a mustard seed knows this movie and can quote any line …. but these kids had not seen the movie? To spice things up I asked them if they’d ever seen ferris buellers day off … NO! Kids these day.
    And by the way … happy belated birthday. You know you’re old when you give up “all nighters” as a youth pastor.

    Like

  2. benyamen says:

    Ya, I guess in my old age I’ve just lost all my shame. I don’t care about publicly acknowledging that I listen to a lot of different kinds of music. Just last week I got called out for listening to Seal and Celine Dion. When I put iTunes on shuffle, just about anything can come up and it often does. I have music for all occasions: slow, fast, sappy, angry, relaxed, loud, a little bit of just about anything. You can all mock me as much as you want, but your personal musical hangups won’t phase me a bit. 😉

    Like

  3. Jonster says:

    “I want it that way” is possibly the saddest benchmark in musical history. It’s a song that stayed at number one for umpteen weeks on end, but only after the fact did people realize that the lyrics made no sense whatsoever. NONE WHATSOEVER. Even the BSB didn’t notice it until many months down the road – and actually, as a result, they re-recorded the song with new lyrics that made [slightly] more sense. They also retitled the song, “No Goodbyes”… just google it and stand in awe of the lyrical masterpiece that it is.
    Now, after having lost all my music street-cred, I shall return to my work…

    Like

Leave a Reply

