Of Ankles and Skateboards

Posted: February 14, 2008 in life
Tags: , , , , , ,

skateboard__160.jpgIt’s true that these two things often go together, but in my case they don’t go together quite yet. They both just happen to be two things that are on the tip of my brain right now. You see two days ago now, while carrying Patyon’s swing home from the church, I missed the bottom step on the church stair case and wound up stepping down with all my weight on the side of my ankle instead of the bottom of my foot. It just so happened that I was looking down when the whole ordeal happened and as I saw my ankle rollover like too many mid-90’s Toyota 4Runners, I was convinced after feeling the ligaments and muscles strain that it was going to be straight to surgery for me. No golf this spring. No driving anywhere for months. No carrying Payton around the living room like a tiny Egyptian Pharaoh. In short, my spring, maybe my life as I know it was screwed. Fortunately though, after careful examination, I found I could put weight on it and walk on it so long as the movement didn’t involve any side-to-side motions. Two, almost three days later now, my ankle is feeling mostly better. Hooray for stretchy ligaments and tendons! It was this thought that brought me to the second item that rests on precipice of my prefrontal cortex.

Stretchy ligaments and tendons would sure come in handy if I were to take up skateboarding again. I know they certainly came in handy during my first attempts at skateboarding back in 2001. I can remember many sprained ankles, sprained wrists, strained knees, and bruised tailbones from that first go round. Many of these injuries unfortunately came from my invention of the “benyamen”. It was a trick in which I would hop on my board, gain speed and then while losing balance I would fire the board out from under my feet while I landed flat on my back. Some would call this more of a bail than a trick, but if you did it as many times as I did you had to try to put a positive spin on it somehow. I can’t really explain it, there likely isn’t a reasonable explanation for it given my history, but I’m having a real hankering to get back on the deck. I’m having a really craving for carving up the asphalt again. I’ve been pricing out how much it would cost me to get a reasonable board online and I’m seriously considering doing it with some of my tax refund. Am I completely insane? I might be, but I still kind of what to start riding again. You might be wondering what could possibly be motivating me to do this to myself again, and after some deep thought I’ve come up with two motivations:
1) It would be a great way for me to make some new friends and connect with the large contingent of SC residents that hang out at the sweet skate park only one block from my house.
2) I have always had a love for skateboarding. I have such deep respect for what the pros can do, and even what some kids can do. I guess as I’m getting older, I’m realizing that fear isn’t something that should keep me from doing things I think I would really enjoy. I don’t want to grow old and die regretting that I never gave skateboarding a really good chance. I already regret missing out on some things in my life because I was too scared to try and I don’t want skateboarding to be one of those regrets too.
3) Okay, so there’s more than two. This one just came to mind though. I think there might be a little bit of massochist in me. I don’t really mind pain. One of my first natural reactions to extreme pain is to laugh. Jenn can attest that shortly after this recent ankle sprain I sat around with ice on the ankle laughing away to nothing at all. It’s freakish, but it’s me. I realize that skateboarding could mean a lot of unnecessary pain, but for some reason that doesn’t really scare me that much.

Anyways, that’s where I’m standing – or lying down as it is – right now. I hope my ankle heals soon so life can get back to normal and I hope that some of you can give me some guidance as I try to decide whether to get back on the board. I’m not sure what to do yet, but I’ll keep you updated as life unfolds.

Comments
  1. Jen Kramer says:

    You already know that my first inclination is to lock you in the house before you would ever try skateboarding again. I want a not broken and bruised father for my son. But, being the godly and submissive wife that I am (don’t laugh), you pray about it and if you feel God is calling you to a skateboard ministry, I will support you. You would just have to wear a helmut and full body armour.

    Like

  2. Jon Kramer says:

    Here’s some alternative solutions:
    1) If you want to get to know people at the skate park – get the church(es) to sponsor a competition.
    2) If you want to express your love for skating, try playing EA’s SKATE or the new Tony Hawk game on the Playstation. The learning curve is a little less steep.
    3) If you want to feel pain, you could always kick a table or something nearby while you’re playing. Also, the finger cramps can be pretty killer too.

    Like

  3. benyamen says:

    Thanks for the input Jonny. Concerning your ideas:

    1) We don’t sponsor a competition per se, but a few of our churches do put on a concert and exhibition every summer in the skatepark. It’s good for a one off get to know you kind of thing, but being there regularly would likely be better.
    2) I have three Tony Hawk games and I do love to play them, but playing them more is kind of what got me into this mess to start with back in 2001 as Jared can attest to if he sees this.
    3) I’m not looking to feel pain. I can’t say as I really enjoy pain, but the pain aspect of skateboarding isn’t enought to scare me away. I could just inflict pain on myself willingly but I think that usually gets you locked up or at least medicated these days.

    Like

  4. Jared says:

    The question stands: if Ben never played Tony Hawk on PS2 in our dorm room, would he have written this post?!

    What will really cook your noodle is: would you have broken the vase if I didn’t say anything?

    /j

    Like

  5. Skateboards says:

    There are a great chance of accident on skateboards but still this is not an excuse for skaters to stop this sport. Accident and pains are part of skateboard and this can stop us from loving and playing skateboard.

    Like

  6. […] time is finally here.  I’m taking up skateboarding again!  Now I know talked about possibly doing this last year, but now the wheels have already been set rolling towards this end.  I wasn’t really […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

