I like hats, but not this many at once.

Posted: February 19, 2008 in church, life
Tags: , ,

hats.gifWhen’s an associate not an associate?  When he’s the only one around!  If you haven’t figured it out yet, I’m the associate in quesiton here.  My official job title may be as an associate pastor, but when you’re the only pastor around all those titles and job descriptions go out the window.  For the forseeable future, I am THE pastor at Bridgeway Community Church.  The senior pastor hasn’t left, but he has been without a voice for the past two weeks and has taken holidays for the next two and a half weeks in an attempt to resuscitate his vocal chords.  I’ll tell you, it’s pretty adventurous trying to carry on all the youth and young adult ministries that usually fill up my entire week as is while trying to get a sermon together each week, plan the service, and ultimately be responsible for anything else that may happen in the church while Cliff is out of comission.

There are usually a week or two during the summer when Cliff is away on holidays that I’m responsible for everything while he’s gone, but during the summer the youth and young adult programs are on hiatus so it’s not so bad.  These next few weeks though should be quite the challenge.  I just hope and pray that Cliff heals up fully and soon.  Anyone who knows me knows I like to wear hats, but if you try to wear too many hats at once it looks pretty silly and it can really give you a headache after a while from the added weight and tightness growing around your head.

I’m enjoying the opportunity to get to preach more, but trying to get things together while doing all the regular work and preparing to speak at the MB Saskatchewan youth conference on Mar.14-16 feels pretty heavy right now.  I have no doubt that it will all work out and come together, but in the meantime this blog may come in very handy as the cathartic end to my cataclysmic days.

Leave a Reply

