Why can’t we all just get along? (Christian Un-civil Wars)

Posted: March 17, 2008 in church, faith, life, religion
Tags: , , , , , , ,

fighting.jpgI was away all weekend speaking at a youth retreat at Redberry Bible Camp and had a great time.  I really enjoyed talking to the group of fifty kids about what it really means to be a Christian – yes, I used the label because it’s what everyone understands – and I had all kinds of things I wanted to write about here.  Things like how great it is to talk with believers that are truly willing to examine what it means to follow Jesus and who really want to make a difference for the kingdom of God in this world.  Things like how great a time I had with Jenn and Payton.  Things like how excited I am to be elected to the Saskatchewan Mennonite Brethren Board of Faith and Life.  Then I came home and read a blog and all that went out the window.  I would name it here, but the last thing Christianity needs is for another public flogging.  I was again dragged down into the un-civil war that Christians have been waging against eachother for far too long now.  Why do Christians feel a need to fight with eachother and try to prove eachother wrong?  We’re on the same team for goodness sake!  We have enough enemies as it is, why do we need to try to make enemies out of some of the few allies that we have?  Enough already!  With the state Christianity is currently in in the Western world the last thing it needs is fellow Christians publicly flogging eachother.If someone see things a little different than you it’s a chance to expand your thinking and learn from eachother, not a chance to start another holy war.  We don’t need more fighting and holy wars.  We need to finally accept that we don’t have to do and believe things exactly the same to love and serve the same God.  People can do things differently and still love and serve Jesus.  All Christians are from the same family, received the same baptism, and have the same Spirit.  Why can’t we just get along and try to fight against the real enemy and not eachother?  I feel sick.  Maybe I’ll be able to talk about some of the good things I wanted to later.

Comments
  1. Coming from a Catholic tradition I would say that many of us(Catholics included) view the “church” as ours. And therefore we have a desire or need to take ownership of the church.

    The problem is that while we are in the church, we don’t own the church. The church belongs to Christ as His bride.

    Like

  2. Shannon says:

    I think a lot of people just don’t want to be “wrong” and they are insecure (and they show it under the guise of acting SUPER EXTRA RIGHT) so the only way they can prove that they are right is by trying to prove others wrong. When it comes down to it, Christianity is NOT about being right. But most of us have been taught, whether directly or indirectly, that we aren’t righteous if we’re not right.

    Like

  3. Jon Kramer says:

    The same team?
    I don’t know about you, but my denomination gives out Christmas bonuses to the churches with the greatest number of cross-christendom converts. It’s a civil war we’re in and I made a killing this past December – and the best news is that the Lutherans are almost out of business!
    I keed, I keed!
    Good words, and I hope that the “unmentionable blog” wasn’t mine…

    Like

  4. sam says:

    Hey well i guess i am one of the younger generation. i am 16 and i think that your wrong when you say that there are no new christians doing something about where we are with the Church. I know my friends and a lot of people i know are actively searching for God. When i think of my friend john (17) it makes me think that there is a bright future ahead for us as the next generation. I think you might not be looking in the right places.

    Like

Leave a Reply

