A Treatise on the Discovery of the Biblical Squirrel

Posted: November 14, 2008 in church, kids, life, Random
Tags: , , , ,

smile-squirrelThere are a lot of animals in the bible.  Bulls, and goats, and pigeons, oh my!  But for the first time ever a couple weeks ago we came across a squirrel during the youth bible study.  One of the kids was reading James 4:1 for us and it read as such, “What causes fights and squirrels among you?  Don’t they come from your desires that battle within you?  You want something but don’t get it.”  Bible study was basically over at that point.

I’ve heard a lot of things that I never expected to be in the bible, like Jason the biblical time traveller from Acts 17, but this was the first time I’d been ever encountered the biblical squirrel of James chapter 4.  I’ve always thought that squirrels were a somewhat mischevious little animal, but prior to this I had no idea that they were genetic relatives to fights, or that they were the offspring of coveting and jealousy.  I’m still working on that essay outlining the evidence supporting my theory of Jason the biblical time traveller, so my letter to National Geographic outlining our discovery of the biblical squirrel will have to wait.  Either way it made for a fun bible study.

Comments
  1. jonkramer says:

    Finally! Now I have biblical proof that squirrels are evil incarnate. Reason and Experience were always on my side (living with one in my attic for 18 months was enough to convince me), but this one tips the scales!

    Like

Leave a Reply

