Help Me Spend My iTunes Money

Posted: January 13, 2009 in music
Tags: , , , , ,

itunesI love me my music, and new music is one of the best gifts I can get.  Wonderfully, I have received $80 in iTunes gift cards over the past few months.  However, this also leaves me with somewhat of a quandry: What albums should I buy with said funds?  Thus far, I have spent about $50 of the $80, leaving me with . . . giving my math challenged friends time to do the calculations here . . . $30.  So this is where you come to my aid like a boom box carrying hipster in musical armor: If you could recommend only one album to me that I must own, what would it be?

I’m open to basically any genre (minus hip-hop and ska of course) so fire away with your suggestions.  It could be your favorite album or just one you think that I would thoroughly enjoy.  Once I have the three winning albums – that’s about what $30 will get you – selected I’ll post them here and let you know what I think of them.  Your assistance is greatly appreciated.

Comments
  1. jonkramer says:

    Here’s five suggestions:
    1) Whiskeytown – Pneumonia. This is the last album put out by Ryan Adams before he went solo. It’s alt-country at its finest.
    2) Elliott Smith – From A Basement On The Hill. I’m not sure if you’ve moved into the realm of enjoying or tolerating Elliott, but there’s some amazing songs on this disc.
    3) Gillian Welch – Soul Journey. More alt-country – only this time, with a woman.
    4) Jeff Buckley – Grace or Live At Sin-E. Youtube it.
    5) Kathleen Edwards – Failer. Like Gillian, only different.

    Like

  2. Jared says:

    Oasis – Dig Out Your Soul
    Great album from start to finish.

    Or if you are looking for some “alt-country”, how about this gem: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=czirN42RKFY ?!

    Like

  3. Daryl says:

    I would suggest Sondre Lerche, but alas, iTunes Canada doesn’t have it. (This was my pick from my Best Of 2008 post)

    Therefore I would go with the new Thievery Corporation Album – Radio Retaliation
    http://tinyurl.com/8r3py8

    Like

  4. Mrp says:

    For the most mellow and wonderful evening of your life:

    Miles Davis – Kind of Blue
    Buena Vista Social Club – Buena Vista Social Club
    Diana Krall – The Look of Love

    Mrp

    Like

  5. Colin says:

    Best album of 2008 (IMHO) – Ellis Paul “Dragonfly Races”

    Like

  6. J.B. says:

    Got a baby? “It’s a Big World” by Renee & Jeremy. However, I don’t think it’s on iTunes. It’s only sold at Barnes & Noble. I had to download it off their website. It’s fantastic!

    Like

  7. Shaun Cornish says:

    I would recommend these albums from Itunes. In my opinion they are very enjoyable and solid and get a lot of play time on my Ipod. These are all “alternative” rock style bands:
    1) House of Heroes – “The end is not the end” – very unique song writing style and they rock.
    2) The Classic Crime – “The Silver Cord
    3) This Beautiful Republic – “Perceptions”
    4) Needtobreathe – “The Heat”
    5) Ivoryline – “There Came a Lion”

    Check them out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

