Another Notch on the Book Belt

Posted: May 5, 2009 in church, faith, Reading List, religion
Tags: , , ,

The Great Emergence: How Christianity is Changing and Why

The Great Emergence: How Christianity is Changing and Why by Phyllis Tickle


My review

rating: 4 of 5 stars
Whether you like Emerging/Emergent church stuff this book makes a very clear case exactly where it has come from historically, theologically, and sociologically. It makes a very clear and fairly fact based argument that we shouldn’t be surprised by the rise of emerging/Emergent Christianity and shouldn’t expect it to just go away. Well worth the read if for no other reason than to see where we’ve come from as a church, where we are, and where we might be heading to.

View all my reviews.

Comments
  1. Jared says:

    As I was going through my Google Reader, I read the post below, and then read your post. I then smiled to myself.

    http://www.reclaimingthemind.org/blog/2009/05/obituary-the-emerging-church-1994-2009/

    Love the book reviews! Keep them coming.
    /j

    Like

  2. benyamen says:

    Honestly man, I could spend hours tearing apart this guys excuse for a post, but I really don’t want to waste my time acknowledging his opinion or artificially propping up his hit count. It’s true a lot people are running from the term “Emergent” but that’s really only because guys like this have dedicated their lives to the character assassination of any person, idea or church associated with it. The people, ideas, churches, and movement that started as “emergent” is flourishing and growing and taking on new forms that are too broad for anyone to pigeon hole and attack. Or maybe it’s just a coincidence that Tony Jones, Scot McKnight, Brian McLaren, Doug Pagitt, Dan Kimball, Erwin McManus and Rob Bell are the most sought after authors and speakers in Christianity and not James Dobson.

    Like

  3. Jared says:

    I am not saying I agree/disagree with either of you. The juxtaposition just struck me as comical.

    Like

Leave a Reply

