I Am a Big Loser . . . but maybe not the biggest

Posted: February 6, 2010 in life
Tags: , ,

For just over a month now I have been engaged in a contest of sorts with my inlaws.  As many people do now they’ve been watching the Biggest Loser and thought, “Why don’t we do that?”  I’ve only ever seen about a total of half an hour of the show spread over a half dozen episodes that I’ve been forced to watch with others while waiting for my show to start (I’ll say just about anything is my show if it means the channel will be changed).  All that being said, I’m more than willing to get in a contest to do something I want to do anyways.  I’m trying to push for a cash prize because nothing motivates like cash, but apparently the others want something like getting to pick a family activity for a day . . . good thing I want to lose the weight just because I want to.

As many of you know I’ve been going to the gym regularly for about a year now and for the first 6 months or more saw no weight loss at all and actually put on another 16 lbs in the process taking me to my all time high of 217 lbs in August.  Well, since then things have changed and I’m actually proud to say I had to turn in my membership in the 200 club this past week as I now weigh in at a svelt 198 as of this morning.  So I guess for as frustrating as those first 6 months were I’ve actually lost 19 lbs in the last 6 months and 7 of those this past month alone.  So here’s to hoping for continued success basically all thanks just to counting the calories and my new best friend, Pepsi Max.

Most disturbing things I learned since I started counting calories:

1. Big Mac = 540 ish cal . . . Sausage and Egg McMuffin = 480 cal – How does that work?

2. Cheezies = 580 ish cal for a small bag

3. KD = almost 1000 cal for a box – no wonder college guys get fat

Well, time for this kid to go get some sleep before a day of relaxing with the family tomorrow.  Life has been running at a pretty crazy pace lately so it’s long overdue . . . but more on that another time.

Comments
  1. benyamen says:

    As a P.S. while at McDonalds today for lunch I was reminded that the large fries is also 610 cal. Brutal.

    Like

  2. Joan says:

    So proud of you! Keep it up. By the way, nice to see you blogging again. We missed reading about your thoughts for the day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

