Does this make me a bad person?

Posted: May 25, 2010 in Baseball, life

With my family gone to visit family for a couple days, I got to sit down tonight and watch almost an entire Red Sox game from start to finish . . . live and in real-time!  Of course, being the tech expert geek that I am, I watched the game through my PS3 while following the Rays v Red Sox twitter feed on my MLB.tv account.

Having publicized my acceptance of the Red Sox likely mediocre season about a week and a half ago, I’ve been more than excited to see their recent win streak since that time.  Making it even more fun was that the Rays fans on twitter seemed to almost unanimously blame the umpire for their loss as opposed to their own poor play.  That led to this “conversation” tonight with a random Rays fan over twitter:

Me: Thinking it’s funny how all the #Rays fans want to blame the ref instead of their inferior team for the loss tonight. #redsox v #rays 19 minutes ago via Live Game Tweets on MLB.com

Me: @mike3490 This inferior team claims to be in Tampa, but only St. Pete will have them. 14 minutes ago via API in reply to mike3490

(Understand although they are called the Tampa Bay Rays, they actually play our of St. Petersburgh, much like the NY Jets play out of New Jersey.  Go Figure.)

  • · RT @benyamen @mike3490 This inferior team claims to be in Tampa, but only St. Pete will have them. <asked u what place theyre in, not city. 8 minutes ago via web

Me: @mike3490 Sorry about that. They place they’re in is called the Trop. It’s an empty shack that so called #Rays fans avoid like the plague. 7 minutes ago via API in reply to mike3490

I have to admit that this conversation left me feeling almost as giddy as the Red Sox two wins in a row against their rivals the Rays.  And mostly because this gentleman – who I’m sure is a fine upstanding human being even if he does cheer for the Rays – seemed completely oblivious to the fact I was purposely evading his question just to mock his team.  I let it go at this point simply because I ran out of ideas to be evasive with. Of course I knew he wanted me to admit my Red Sox are three spots below them in the standings, but that would only rain on my parade.

Does this make me a bad person, or just a fan enjoying giving another fan a well-intentioned ribbing? 😉  Either way, it made my evening just a little more enjoyable despite the absence of my family.

Leave a Reply

